If it's in Mar Vista, it's on Mar Vista Mom.

August Fun at the Mar Vista Library

August Fun at the Mar Vista Library

“It’s Showtime”, the LAPL summer reading challenge for all ages, is coming to an end Saturday, August 10.  We will be celebrating the end of the challenge with a special program for all those children who read and earned their light sticks. They can bring their light sticks to the craft program at 2pm and turn them into lightsabers!
Watch for the winter reading challenge coming in December!
This month The Source returns to Mar Vista on Thu, Aug 15 at noon.

August Mar Vista library

Featured programs this month include:

  • Teen Council & Stress Ball Craft – Sat, Aug 3 – 2pm
  • Summer Reading Challenge Finale – Sat, Aug 10 – 2pm
  • Movie Night “Detective Pikachu” – Tues, Aug 20 – 5:30pm
  • Kids & Craftz Festival – Sat, Aug 24 – 10-2pm

Baby Story Time will be held every Mon at 12:30pm.
English Conversation Classes will be held every Mon at 1:30pm*
Drop-in Tutoring for Adults will be held every Tues at 5:30pm*
Toddler Story Time will be held every Wed at  11am.
Teens Leading Change will be held every Wed at 4pm
Computer held is available this month Mon through Fri beginning Wed, Aug 14 from 2:30-5:30pm
Citizenship classes will held every Sat except Aug 31 because of the Labor Day Holiday on Mon, Sept 2 when the library will be closed.
The Quilts From the Heart workshops will meet on Fri, Aug 9 and 23 at 1pm.

The Mystery Book Club will meet on Thurs, Aug 15 at 6:30pm to discuss Agatha Christie’s book Murder of Roger Ackroyd.
The Friends of the Library meeting will meet Thur, Aug 22 at 6:30pm
The Mar Vista Community Council Sub-committees will meet:

  • PLUM (Planning and Land Use) – Thu, Aug 1 at 6:30pm
  • Arts, Education, Culture – Tue, Aug 6 at 6:30pm
  • Outreach – Thurs, Aug 8 at 6:30pm
  • Great Streets – Wed, Aug 14 at 6:30pm
  • Homeless Solutions – Wed, Aug 21 at 6:30pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *